Your updated source of information about Dehradun & Uttarakhand.

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Election results 2012: List of Big Winners and Losers

NEW DELHI: The assembly election results today sprang up several surprises in traditional party pocket-boroughs while little-known candidates registered windfalls in many others. 

Following is a list of prominent winners and losers. 

Uttar Pradesh: Leader of Opposition in the UP assembly and SP nominee Shivpal Yadav retains Jaswantnagar seat by defeating BSP's Manish Yadav by a margin of 81,084 votes. 

Sitting Congress MLA Amita Singh loses to SP candidate Gyatri Prasad Prajapati by a margin of over 7,000 votes in Amethi. 

Heavyweight D P Yadav loses from Sahaswan assembly seat where Onkar Singh Yadav of SP won defeating BSP's Babar Miyan by 7,062 votes. Yadav had contested as a candidate of his party Rashtriya Parivartan Dal. 

Louis Khurshid, wife of Union law minister Salman Khurshid, loses from Farukkhabad assembly seat where Independent candidate Vijay Singh defeats BJP's Major Sunil Dutt Dwiwedi by a slender margin of 147 votes. 

Sitting Independent MLA Mukhtar Ansari, who fought the elections under the 'Quami Ekta Dal', wins from Mau Sadar seat by defeating his nearest rival Bhim Rajbhar of BSP by a margin of about 5,000 votes. 

Punjab: Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal retains his Lambi seat defeating his nearest Congress rival and cousin, Mahesh Inder Singh Badal, by a margin of 24,739 votes. 

Punjab's deputy chief minister and SAD President Sukhbir Singh Badal wins from Jalalabad seat by a margin of 50,289 votes. 

Punjab Congress president Amarinder Singh retains Patiala constituency by defeating ruling SAD's Surjit Singh Kohli by a margin of 42,318 votes. 

His son Raninder Singh loses by 6,930 votes from Samana seat. 

BJP candidate Navjot Kaur, wife of Amritsar MP Navjot Singh Sidhu, wins Amritsar (East) constituency by defeating an Independent candidate by a margin of 7,099 votes. 

Former Indian Hockey captain and SAD candidate Pargat Singh wins from Jalandhar Cantt by defeating Congress rival Jagbir Singh Brar by a margin of 6,798 votes. 

Punjab BJP President Ashwani Sharma wins from Pathankot defeating his nearest Congress rival Raman Bhalla by a margin of 17,586 votes. 

SAD candidate Bibi Jagir Kaur wins from Bhonath seat. 

Among the losers in Punjab are Razia Sultana (Cong- Malerkotla), Suman Kaypee (Cong-Jal West), Tikshan Sud (BJP- Hoshiarpur) and Upinderjit Kaur (SAD-Sultanpur Lodhi). 

Uttarakhand: Uttarakhand BJP president Bishan Singh Chufal wins from Didihaat seat defeating Rewati Joshi of Congress by 10617 votes. 

In a huge setback chief minister BC Khanduri lost to SS Negi of the Congress from Kotdwar seat.

Uttarakhand Congess chief Yashpal Arya wins from Baajpur defeating Raj Kumar of BJP by 15075 votes. 

Former health minister and BJP leader Ajay Bhatt loses to Karan Mahra of Congress from Ranikhet seat by 88 votes. 

Tourism minister Madan Kaushik of BJP wins from Haridwar seat defeating Satpal Bhramchari of Congress by 8603 votes. 

Former PWD minister and Congress leader Indira Hridayesh wins from Haldwani seat defeating Renu Adhikari of BJP by 23583 votes 

Goa: Congress candidate from Cuncolim constituency Joaquim Aleamo loses to BJP's candidate Subhash Naik while Dayanand Narvekar lost to BJP's Glen Ticlo in Aldona constituency. 

Goa Pradesh Congress Committee President Subhas Shirodkar suffers defeat at the hands of BJP's Mahadev Naik in Shiroda constituency. 

In Calangute constituency, BJP's Michael Lobo wins against Congress' Agnelo Fernandes. 

Sitting MLA Nilkhant Halarnkar loses to MGP's Kiran Kandolakar from Tivim constituency. 

Former tourism minister and Goa Vikas Party candidate Franciso Pacheco wins in Nuvem defeating Congress candidate Alexio Sequeira. 

Alemao family and Congress candidates Churchil Aleamo (Navelim), his brother Joaquim (Cuncolim) and daughter Valanka suffer defeat in Benaulim. 

Manipur: Manipur chief minister O. Ibobi Singh defeats his nearest rival O Indira of BJP in Thoubal assembly constituency by over 10,000 votes. 

Elections 2012 News 

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2012

No comments:

Post a Comment