Your updated source of information about Dehradun & Uttarakhand.

Monday, February 27, 2012

83 pc members cast vote in Dehradun Bar Association poll

Dehradun, February 27
The elections for the Dehradun Bar Association (DBA) were held peacefully on the premises of the District Courts here today.

The voting started at 9:45 am and was over by 5 pm. The counting was started at 6 pm. 83 per cent voting was registered in the elections.
Among the candidates fighting for the post of the president, Razia Begh and Surinder Pundir are considered front-runner, whereas for the post of secretary, Anil Gandhi is emerging as the favourite.
Begh had been the former chairperson of the Uttarakhand Bar Council (UBC) and member of the Wakf Board.
Surinder Pundir had been elected as secretary to the DBA five times.
Among others who are fighting for the post of president are Kailash Joshi, who earlier fought the DBC elections but lost, and SS Rawat, who has been the former member of the UBC and former secretary in the DBA.
Anil Gandhi, who is contesting for the post of secretary, had been the vice-president twice and was serving as the secretary in the DBA.
Raghuvir Singh Kathait had been the joint secretary twice and had served the DBA as the vice-president also. But luck had not been favouring him for the past six years. Sunil Kumar Sharma is contesting for the first time on this post.
Alok Gildiyal is contesting for the post of vice-president. He was serving as the vice-president.
Former auditor Nirdesh Khandelwal is also vying for the post. Kali Bhatt, joint secretary in the DBA, is trying his luck once again this year for the post. Ajay Bisht, Purushottam Khandelwal and Bhanu Prasad Sisodia, who lost last year, are in the race once again. Sanjay Kukreti is the first timer among them. The elections are also held for the post of librarian and auditor.
President, DBA, Manmohan Kandwal, said the elections to the DBA had always been held in high esteem as it was the oldest and the biggest Bar Association with 3,000 members in the state.
The election to this Bar has proved pedestal for higher reckoning in the state elections as former position holders like Nityanand Swami rose up to become the Chief Minister of the state. Dinesh Aggarwal had been an MLA twice, Heera Singh Bisht became the Cabinet Minister and Harbans Kapoor was elected as Speaker.

1 comment: