Your updated source of information about Dehradun & Uttarakhand.

Friday, August 30, 2013

Tripti Dhyani is students’ council president in MKP College

Dehradun, August 30
Tripti Dhyani of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) was elected president of the students’ council in MKP PG College today. The party won all 12 posts in the election.

Tripti secured 366 votes and defeated her nearest rival Karishma Rawat, who contested the election as an Independent candidate. Pooja Gusain of the Vikas group finished third.
The other ABVP candidates, who were elected office-bearers of the students’ council, are: vice president- Sangeeta Sajwan; university representative-Kiran Chauhan; treasurer-Chander Kapoor; and joint secretary- Aasma Ansari. Chander Kapoor was elected treasurer unopposed.
The elected executive committee members are Neha Thapa, Shilpa, Anamika Verma, Garima Chawla, Priyanjali Sharma and Simran Kaur (all belonging to the ABVP).
Meanwhile, the election saw mere 30 per cent of polling in the morning. There were total 2,500 registered voters in MKP PG College. The voting began at 10 am and went on till 1 pm. The counting started after an hour and the results were declared late evening. The NSUI did not field any candidate in the election in MKP PG College though it was supporting many candidates belonging to other groups.
Students’ scuffle
Students owing allegiance to two groups entered into a scuffle during the polls at MKP PG College here today. The police had to intervene to defuse the situation.

Tension erupted when Karishma, an independent candidate for the post of president, was asking her supporters to stand ahead in the queue for voting. This made the supporters of Vikas group angry and they got involved in small brawl. Khushby Raturi of Vikas group registered a complaint against Karishma with the authorities. 

No comments:

Post a Comment