Your updated source of information about Dehradun & Uttarakhand.

Friday, June 22, 2012

State police officers discuss Kanwar mela preparations

Haridwar, June 22
With the Kanwar mela set to begin from July 4, a high-level inter- state meeting was held at the CCR tower here today. The meeting, which was presided over by Garhwal Commissioner Kunal Sharma, stressed on mutual coordination and better dissemination of information among the states.
The decision regarding the strict implementation of law and order and traffic rules was also taken during the meeting. The Dak Kanwar Moto Vehicle Act will also be in place this year. It had been waived in the previous Kanwar seasons.
The pilgrimage on goods ferrying vehicles will not be allowed and kanwariyas driving without helmet will not be allowed to enter Uttarkahand. A special security cell will be established that will monitor security measures during the fair. DIG, Dehradun range, Sanjay Gunjiyal has also been appointed nodal officer for the fair.
The main focus will be on the ultra-sensitive Har-ki-Pauri mela zone, where CCTV cameras would be installed to check the movement of miscreants. Thirty heavily armed mobile squads will also be deployed in the zone.
SP (city) Kiran Lal Shaw said as they had received several threat letters with regard to causing disruption during the fair, the administration is making all efforts to ensure round-the-clock patrolling in sensitive areas.
At the kanwar stretch, Har-ki-Pauri mela zone, high-mast lamp posts are being installed to ensure the smooth conduct and movement of kanwariyas. While 50 handpumps are already in working condition, 50 water tankers will also be pressed into service to quench the thirst of kanwariyas and police personnel on kanwar duty.
As the rush of kanwariyas is increases after July 10 when 'panchak' gets over, the kanwar market alongside the Ganga ghat will be removed.
DM, Tehri Garhwal, Ranjeet Singh, DM, Saharanpur, Ajay Kumar Singh, SSP, Dehradun, Neeru Garg, SP, Tehri, Janmayjay Khanduri, CDO Gaziabad Suresh Kumar Rathore, ADM, Meerut, Vinod Singh, SP (city), Muzaafarnagar RK Yadav, SP (city), Saharanpur, AS Rai, SSP, Haridwar, Arun Mohan Joshi, and SP, Haridwar city, KL Shaw were also present.

No comments:

Post a Comment